Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Aston Martin wins 2010 GT1 Trophy

Gaydon, 8 December 2010. Aston Martin has clinched the 2010 SRO Trophy for manufacturers after a thrilling close to the FIA GT1 World Championship season in South America.

The final race weekend of the GT1 season at San Luis in Argentina was dominated by official Aston Martin Racing Partner, Team Hexis AMR . The no. 9 DBR9 of Fred Makowiecki and Yann Clairay took victory in both the qualifying race and the championship race, backed up by the second Team Hexis car of Clivio Piccione and Jonathan Hirschi which took 4th and 3rd place in the two one-hour races. The combined efforts of the ambitious young French team earned them the highest ever points score in the championship, leapfrogging them into second place in the World Championship for teams.

Aston Martin’s other official GT1 team, Young Driver AMR, went into the weekend with an outside chance of both the teams’ title and the drivers’ title for the no. 7 pairing of Darren Turner and Tomas Enge. All was looking good when the team’s no. 8 car, piloted by Stefan Mücke and Jose Maria Lopez, claimed pole position for the qualifying race. However, Mücke was eliminated after contact with another car on lap one, meaning the pair could only manage 5th place in the following championship race despite their best efforts. Turner and Enge also tried valiantly, but were hindered by 40kgs of success ballast from their 1st and 2nd place results at the previous round in Brazil and were unable to secure the points necessary to claim the title.

Read more HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment